Lightroom vs Photoshop (sorry, this is a little wordy)

Home Photography Forums General Photo Chit Chat Lightroom vs Photoshop (sorry, this is a little wordy)

This topic contains 18 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  Craig 1 week, 5 days ago.

• Author

Dorothy
    Participant

i have noticed that most photographers seem to tote the praises of LR. the impression i get is that it makes handling large groups of photos easier. so to give like wedding pictures all the same feel it is a much quicker process than individually handling them in PS.

i originally came to PS from Paint Shop Pro and understood it would be a rather strenuous learning curve as PS was not nearly as user friendly as PSP. that said i also heard you would never be able to learn everything in PS because there were so many ways to do things. (unlimited learning!)

today i am still learning and still feel like i don't know anything 🙂 but there is a hands on appeal to it that i like.

the one thing that keeps me a fan of PS (other than all the great stuff it can do) is that i can use SAVE AS (psd, jpeg, tif, etc.) it is very rare i would use SAVE, the SAVE AS keeps me from changing my original raw files. i usually have an original size psd file, a 300 resolution jpeg file and a 72 resolution jpeg file which are easily done in PS quite quickly.

i noticed that even here in LS there is a tendency to lean towards LR, ie LR Presets but no PS enhancements like brushes or textures or actions, which might be worth considering to offer.

of course, it may just be me that is a die hard PS user, but was wondering what everyone else thought about LR vs PS.

Tom M
    Participant