Wide Angle Lenses & Adapters

Home Photography Forums General Photo Chit Chat Wide Angle Lenses & Adapters

This topic contains 11 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Shelby 5 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Shelby
    Participant

First post wohoo!

After searching the forums I found no answers, so here is my question.

Im looking to expand my creativity a bit and experiment with wide angle lenses. I shoot a t2i (crop 1.6) and was wondering how some of you would approach this?

I'm skeptical about buying a $25 adapter and throwing it on a 18-55. Will the photo quality be compromised?

Im also a broke graduate student who cant afford that lovely glass to really do the trick, so what do you think about these adapters?

Tobie

Which $25 adapter are you referring to?

Shelby
    Participant

Tobie

Interesting. I'm a bit sceptical so I reckon it's a good idea to first chat to someone who has used it before (as you're doing in this thread). I'm curious too…

Shane
    Participant

@zemksd I just bought the polaroid version of this. The polaroid version is:
    http://www.amazon.com/Polaroid-Studio-Series-42X-Fisheye/dp/B00461AID8

I experimented with it yesterday. I used it on both my 18-55 EF-S and my 75-300 EF lenses. I was very pleased. Unfortunately, I was just testing and the photos lack content so I wont post. But, I will. I am also using a T2i and I highly recommend it.

It comes in 3 pieces. It has an adapter which you wont need, and the fisheye/macro are two pieces. It was a great purchase. I've seen it between $29 and $39 on Amazon.

Shelby
    Participant

Hey @shaneh thanks for the info. Can you provide some shots with it? Just so I can get the idea of a x42. 🙂

Shane
    Participant

@zemksd I will be glad to take some shots using each lens with the adaptor tomorrow. I might do some with the macro tonight depending if I can think of anything to shoot.

Ehpem
    Participant