Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Leogirl
      Participant
        • Allows Edits: No
        @leogirl

No Achievements Yet!

Allows Edits? No

Hi..I have been so inspired by many of the photographs I have seen on photo groups, taken by both professionals and beginners. I purchased my first DSLR camera almost 6 months ago and made it my mission to learn how to use it manually. Although I still have much more to learn, I am thrilled with what I have learned and produced so far with with my new camera. I’m totally addicted!! Now I need to learn how to edit!! LOL

dadadam
        Participant
          • Allows Edits: Yes
          @dadadam

No Achievements Yet!

Allows Edits? Yes

Hi
          Like you I am an avid beginner, keen to learn and get better results.
          The Home page of this site has many good tips, I have found Youtube very good, there you will find many free tutorials on just about every subject, just search for photography.
          Good luck and happy shooting.

Bill Pearl
          Participant
            • Allows Edits: Yes
            @bill-pearl

No Achievements Yet!

Allows Edits? Yes

Welcome to the gang!

For 90% of my editing I use six adjustments, and usually only one or two of them for most edits.

When editing use a workflow. For technical reasons some edits should be done before others. Here is the workflow I follow:

WORKFLOW
            (Ref: Paint Shop Pro X2 functions but the same actions available in any editing programme)

If original is Raw:
            1. Exposure
            2. White balance
            3. Highlights/shadows
            4. Curves (contrast)
            5. Crop (hide, not delete)
            6. Save as .dng file in /Originals (or favourite raw format)

Basic Pixel Changing Edits

1. Colour Balance (white balance or light source adjustment)
            Adjust > Automatic Color Balance(advance control options available)

2.a. Exposure ( Shift-M )